INSURED RISKS, NATURAL DISASTER PREMIUMS AND ESTIMATED VALUE OF INSURED PROPERTY

GENERAL STATISTICS

The "natural disaster" legal guaranty is included under all "property" policies. The estimated number of insured risks for this market1 increased in 2017 reaching 90 million. In this same year, the Natural Disaster guaranty generated € 1.64 b in premiums, up 2.5% compared to 2016. In France, the exact total amount of insured property is not known as these figures are not included in the insurance policies. However, the total amount of all insured property on the French market is estimated by CCR to be over € 14,950 billion.

The statistics displayed in the table below are broken down by line of business and by category of insured risk, namely personal risks, agricultural risks, business risks (excluding agriculture) and motor risks.

Line of business Category of insured risks Number of insured risks2
(in millions)
Natural disaster premiums
(in millions of euros)
Average premiums
(in euros)
Value of insured property
(in billions of euros)3
Property
(excluding motor)
Personal risks 42.3 872 21 8,110
Business risks
(excluding agriculture)
6.4 612 96 6,210
Agricultural risks 0.6 56 93 360
Total property
(excluding motor)
49.3 1,540 31 14,680
Property
(including motor)
Motor 414 101 2.5 2705
Total 90.3 1,641 18 14,950

1 The notion of "property" market represents all risks covered by insurance companies operating in France, whether they be reinsured by CCR or by another reinsurer. These figures are based on the extraction of data provided by the insurers.
2 Insured risks is defined by a group of buildings covered by the same insurance policy and located at the same address, including buildings that are contiguous yet do not communicate. The number of risks is the result of the extrapolation of data for the entire insurance market provided by the insurers.
3 Insured amounts correspond to an estimate, based on an algorithm developed by CCR, of compensation in the event of a total loss in accordance with the terms of the insurance policy and prior to application of any deductibles or limits.
4 The amount indicated, provided by the French Insurance Federation, corresponds to the number of insured vehicles in France. Consequently, this figure is slightly over-estimated since a portion of all vehicles is not insured under property policies but only under casualty policies.
5 Insured amounts for motor vehicles are derived from CCR estimates calculated on the basis of the average motor vehicle price.

RISQUES ASSURÉS, PRIMES CATASTROPHES NATURELLES ET VALEURS ASSURÉES ESTIMÉES

STATISTIQUES GÉNÉRALES

La garantie légale « catastrophes naturelles » est adossée aux contrats « dommages aux biens ». L’estimation du nombre de risques assurés de ce marché1 évolue à la hausse en 2017 pour atteindre 90 millions. La garantie Cat Nat a généré cette même année 1,64 milliards d’euros de primes, en hausse de 2,5% par rapport à 2016. Il n’existe pas en France de vision exacte des valeurs assurées, celles-ci ne figurant pas systématiquement dans les contrats d’assurance. Néanmoins, le montant des valeurs assurées dommages aux biens est estimé par CCR à plus de 14 950 milliards d’euros sur le marché français

Les statistiques affichées dans le tableau ci-dessous sont ventilées par branche et par catégorie de risques, à savoir les risques de particuliers, les risques agricoles, les risques professionnels hors agricoles, et les risques automobiles.

Branche Catégorie de risques assurés Nombre de risques assurés2
(en millions)
Primes catastrophes naturelles
(en millions d'€)
Primes moyennes
(en €)
Valeurs assurées
(en milliards d'€)
Dommages aux biens
(hors auto)
Risques de particuliers 42,3 872 21 8 110
Risques professionnels
(hors agricoles)
6,4 612 96 6 210
Risques agricoles 0,6 56 93 360
Total dommages aux biens
(hors auto)
49,3 1 540 31 14 680
Dommages aux biens
(auto)
Automobiles 414 101 2,5 2705
Total 90,3 1 641 18 14 950

1 La notion de marché « Dommages aux biens » représente l'ensemble des risques couverts par les entreprises d'assurance opérant sur le territoire français, qu'elles soient réassurées ou non par CCR. Les chiffres sont issus d'une extrapolation des données fournies par les assureurs.
2 On entend par risque assuré un ensemble de biens, couverts par un même contrat d'assurance et situés à une même adresse, y compris s'il s'agit de bâtiments contigus sans communication. Le nombre de risques est issu de l’extrapolation à l'ensemble du marché de l'assurance des données fournies par les assureurs
3 Les valeurs assurées correspondent à une estimation, à partir d’un algorithme développé par CCR, du montant de l'indemnisation en cas de perte totale selon les termes du contrat d'assurance et avant application des franchises et éventuelles limites
4 Le chiffre indiqué, issu de la Fédération Française des Assurances (FFA), correspond au nombre de véhicules assurés en France. Il est donc légèrement surévalué, puisqu’une partie de ces véhicules n’est pas assurée en dommages, mais uniquement en responsabilité civile du conducteur.
5 Les valeurs assurées automobiles sont issues d’estimations CCR faites à partir du prix moyen d’un véhicule.