France's present natural risk prevention policy is the fruit of the progressive development of a diversity of solutions to loss events that occurred over the course of the past several decades: protection of the territories against natural perils, integration of risk prevention factors in urban planning, natural hazard forecasting, crisis preparation, public awareness programs, reduction of the level of vulnerability of property and activities, improvement of construction standards. Public prevention measures, sometimes closely linked together, are developed on a broad scale and by stakeholders from a wide variety of areas. They must therefore coexist within a complex architecture that sometimes lacks visibility in terms of operation as well as efficiency. The goal of the explanations in this section is to shed light on the type, the degree of implementation and the level of effectiveness of some of the more emblematic public prevention measures...

February 2, 1995Established by the French law of February 2, 1995, in response to dramatic flooding that demonstrated the severe pitfalls of uncontrolled urban planning in risk-prone areas, the NDPP replaced the Risk Exposure Plan the implementation of which met with several obstacles.

€ 190 mSince 1997, the Barnier Fund has provided 190 million euros towards the development of NDPPs.

100% financingFinanced at a rate of 100% by the Barnier Fund, the implementation of an NDPP makes it mandatory for the mayor of a municipality covered by this measure to also put in place a Municipal Contingency Plan (MCP) and a Municipal Information Document on Major Risks (MIDMR).

11,888In 2017, 11,888 municipalities were covered by an NDPP or a similar type of measure (SAP, REP, article R111.3).

The Law of July 13, 1982 established a compensation scheme including compulsory deductibles together with a prevention plan (the Risk Exposure Plan, which today has become the Natural Disaster Prevention Plan). The links between compensation and prevention have been strengthened by a sliding scale that adjusts the deductibles applying to municipalities that do not have Natural Disaster Prevention Plans, to encourage them to introduce such plans.

Since January 1, 2001, in municipalities without Natural Disaster Plans (approved or prescribed within the previous 4 years), it has been possible to adjust deductibles (except for motor insurance policies) for more than two Natural Disaster decrees concerning the same type of peril and during the course of the five previous years, according to the number of decrees enacted (1 to 2, 3, 4, 5 and more):

Number of natural disaster decrees for All perils

1 to 2

3

4

5 and more

Total

Basic Deductible

2582

Doubling of Deductible

182

Tripling of Deductible

59

Quadrupling of Deductible

35
2858

Basic Deductible

2968

Doubling of Deductible

476

Tripling of Deductible

178

Quadrupling of Deductible

61
3683

Basic Deductible

1874

Doubling of Deductible

131

Tripling of Deductible

46

Quadrupling of Deductible

19
2070

Basic Deductible

6857

Doubling of Deductible

126

Tripling of Deductible

34

Quadrupling of Deductible

7
7024

Basic Deductible

494

Doubling of Deductible

21

Tripling of Deductible

8

Quadrupling of Deductible

3
526

Basic Deductible

2549

Doubling of Deductible

393

Tripling of Deductible

78

Quadrupling of Deductible

8
3028

Basic Deductible

1387

Doubling of Deductible

46

Tripling of Deductible

34

Quadrupling of Deductible

23
1490

Basic Deductible

1461

Doubling of Deductible

52

Tripling of Deductible

24

Quadrupling of Deductible

18
1555

Basic Deductible

2742

Doubling of Deductible

86

Tripling of Deductible

12

Quadrupling of Deductible

3
2843

Basic Deductible

7228

Doubling of Deductible

132

Tripling of Deductible

18

Quadrupling of Deductible

2
7380

Basic Deductible

4490

Doubling of Deductible

39

Tripling of Deductible

13

Quadrupling of Deductible

7
4549

Basic Deductible

3026

Doubling of Deductible

290

Tripling of Deductible

62

Quadrupling of Deductible

16
3394

Basic Deductible

1424

Doubling of Deductible

56

Tripling of Deductible

20

Quadrupling of Deductible

3
1503

Basic Deductible

1941

Doubling of Deductible

29

Tripling of Deductible

4

Quadrupling of Deductible

0
1974

Basic Deductible

2677

Doubling of Deductible

73

Tripling of Deductible

22

Quadrupling of Deductible

5
2777

Basic Deductible

1105

Doubling of Deductible

56

Tripling of Deductible

12

Quadrupling of Deductible

5
1178

Basic Deductible

3895

Doubling of Deductible

71

Tripling of Deductible

9

Quadrupling of Deductible

6
3981

Basic Deductible

384

Doubling of Deductible

6

Tripling of Deductible

0

Quadrupling of Deductible

0
390

Basic Deductible

49084

Doubling of Deductible

2265

Tripling of Deductible

633

Quadrupling of Deductible

221
52203

Number of natural disaster decrees for flooding

1 to 2

3

4

5 and more

Total

Basic Deductible

2402

Doubling of Deductible

151

Tripling of Deductible

39

Quadrupling of Deductible

17
2609

Basic Deductible

2688

Doubling of Deductible

435

Tripling of Deductible

165

Quadrupling of Deductible

53
3341

Basic Deductible

1220

Doubling of Deductible

66

Tripling of Deductible

23

Quadrupling of Deductible

8
1317

Basic Deductible

2365

Doubling of Deductible

85

Tripling of Deductible

19

Quadrupling of Deductible

5
2474

Basic Deductible

356

Doubling of Deductible

12

Tripling of Deductible

1

Quadrupling of Deductible

2
371

Basic Deductible

846

Doubling of Deductible

37

Tripling of Deductible

15

Quadrupling of Deductible

2
900

Basic Deductible

1132

Doubling of Deductible

14

Tripling of Deductible

0

Quadrupling of Deductible

1
1147

Basic Deductible

1202

Doubling of Deductible

17

Tripling of Deductible

1

Quadrupling of Deductible

0
1220

Basic Deductible

2548

Doubling of Deductible

76

Tripling of Deductible

11

Quadrupling of Deductible

1
2636

Basic Deductible

6633

Doubling of Deductible

82

Tripling of Deductible

7

Quadrupling of Deductible

1
6723

Basic Deductible

3019

Doubling of Deductible

25

Tripling of Deductible

11

Quadrupling of Deductible

7
3062

Basic Deductible

980

Doubling of Deductible

53

Tripling of Deductible

16

Quadrupling of Deductible

9
1058

Basic Deductible

757

Doubling of Deductible

19

Tripling of Deductible

9

Quadrupling of Deductible

1
786

Basic Deductible

1702

Doubling of Deductible

24

Tripling of Deductible

2

Quadrupling of Deductible

0
1728

Basic Deductible

2458

Doubling of Deductible

68

Tripling of Deductible

21

Quadrupling of Deductible

2
2549

Basic Deductible

802

Doubling of Deductible

45

Tripling of Deductible

11

Quadrupling of Deductible

4
862

Basic Deductible

2940

Doubling of Deductible

51

Tripling of Deductible

8

Quadrupling of Deductible

6
3005

Basic Deductible

356

Doubling of Deductible

6

Tripling of Deductible

0

Quadrupling of Deductible

0
362

Basic Deductible

34406

Doubling of Deductible

1266

Tripling of Deductible

359

Quadrupling of Deductible

119
36150

Pour les inondations (incluant les remontées de nappe et la submersion marine), la franchise n’a été modulée que dans 5% des reconnaissances (1 744 modulations sur 36 150 reconnaissances).

Number of natural disaster decrees for drought

1 to 2

3

4

5 and more

Total

Basic Deductible

41

Doubling of Deductible

14

Tripling of Deductible

10

Quadrupling of Deductible

4
69

Basic Deductible

6

Doubling of Deductible

7

Tripling of Deductible

1

Quadrupling of Deductible

0
14

Basic Deductible

571

Doubling of Deductible

63

Tripling of Deductible

23

Quadrupling of Deductible

9
666

Basic Deductible

4383

Doubling of Deductible

39

Tripling of Deductible

14

Quadrupling of Deductible

2
4438

Basic Deductible

84

Doubling of Deductible

9

Tripling of Deductible

7

Quadrupling of Deductible

1
101

Basic Deductible

1680

Doubling of Deductible

354

Tripling of Deductible

62

Quadrupling of Deductible

6
2102

Basic Deductible

238

Doubling of Deductible

32

Tripling of Deductible

34

Quadrupling of Deductible

22
326

Basic Deductible

187

Doubling of Deductible

35

Tripling of Deductible

23

Quadrupling of Deductible

18
263

Basic Deductible

120

Doubling of Deductible

10

Tripling of Deductible

1

Quadrupling of Deductible

2
133

Basic Deductible

545

Doubling of Deductible

49

Tripling of Deductible

11

Quadrupling of Deductible

1
606

Basic Deductible

87

Doubling of Deductible

14

Tripling of Deductible

2

Quadrupling of Deductible

0
103

Basic Deductible

2012

Doubling of Deductible

235

Tripling of Deductible

46

Quadrupling of Deductible

7
2300

Basic Deductible

603

Doubling of Deductible

36

Tripling of Deductible

10

Quadrupling of Deductible

2
651

Basic Deductible

22

Doubling of Deductible

1

Tripling of Deductible

0

Quadrupling of Deductible

0
23

Basic Deductible

43

Doubling of Deductible

1

Tripling of Deductible

0

Quadrupling of Deductible

0
44

Basic Deductible

197

Doubling of Deductible

8

Tripling of Deductible

1

Quadrupling of Deductible

0
206

Basic Deductible

866

Doubling of Deductible

19

Tripling of Deductible

1

Quadrupling of Deductible

0
886

Basic Deductible

11685

Doubling of Deductible

926

Tripling of Deductible

246

Quadrupling of Deductible

74
12931

Dans le cas de la sécheresse, la franchise a été modulée dans 10% des cas (1 246 modulations sur 12 931 reconnaissances).


Municipal Contingency Plan (MCP)

The Municipal Contingency Plan is a crisis preparation measure aimed at protecting the population from the adverse effects of a potentially dangerous event. The plan was made mandatory by the French law on the modernization of civil security dated August 13, 2004 for all municipalities with an approved NDPP. Implementation is required within a period of two years from the date of approval of the NDPP. The MCP is a document used in the planning, at the municipality level, of measures aimed at safeguarding the population in the event of a civil security crisis (alerts, preventive evacuation, temporary lodging, support to the population, safety recommendations, etc.). The law also requires that the MCP be integrated into documents within the competence of the municipality that contribute to providing prevention information and therefore in particular into the Municipal Information Document on Major Risks (MIDMR). The reasoning is simple, the safeguarding measures deployed by the mayor when anticipating a crisis are more effective when the population is adequately informed. The establishment of an MCP may not be financed by the Barnier Fund. However, its implementation constitutes, for those municipalities seeking to develop and implement an Action Plan for Flood Prevention (APFP), a necessary condition when requesting financing, through the Barnier Fund, of a portion of the funds necessary for operating hydraulic works included in the NDPP.

MUNICIPAL INFORMATION DOCUMENT ON MAJOR RISKS (MIDMR)

The MIDMR is a municipal measure designed to heighten the population's awareness of risks. It often takes the form of a brochure that presents information in a pedagogical format enabling readers to assimilate information on risks to which their municipality is exposed (history of events, map of hazards), the ways of alerting the population in case of an emergency, the safeguarding measures the authorities will take if an event occurs, the right attitude to adopt in case of a crisis. The creation of an MIDMR and making it available at the town hall is mandatory for every mayor whose municipality is covered by an NDPP. The MIDMR is an integral part of the MCP. The MIDMR may be financed by the Barnier Fund for up to 100%. As is the case for the MCP, its implementation is a required condition for obtaining financing, through the Barnier Fund, of a portion of the funds necessary for operating hydraulic works included in the NDPP.

ACTION PLAN FOR FLOOD PREVENTION (APFP)

The APFP is a prevention measure that is distinctly different from the NDPP, MCP and MIDMR. As its name implies, an APFP addresses only the issue of flood prevention, though the concept of flood embraces a wide range of events (overflowing of water banks, rising water tables, run-off flooding, exceptional rainfall, marine submersions).

The scope of the plan may include territories of varying size and very often those with over ten municipalities and, as a general rule, the scope is consistent with the hazard the plan addresses (drainage basins, hydro-sedimentary units). An APFP is an action plan, i.e. a group of several measures that are designed to operate in concert and cover a broad range of objectives for a given territory. To this extent, an APFP can "contain" a review of an NDPP, the creation of an MIDMR, the implementation of an MCP, as well as a full range of additional prevention actions. Used by several territories of varying type, the role of an APFP is to provide an overall solution to flood risk issues. Initiated in 2003 in the form of a one-off project, the measure became a genuine success (over a hundred projects were developed in France covering 40% of the population exposed to overflow flooding risk and 60% of the population exposed to marine submersion risk).

The uniqueness of this measure lies in particular in the selection process that is used to obtain subsidies from the Barnier Fund. The latter is based on a number of specifications that have evolved significantly over the past fifteen years and the requirements of which have become more stringent. Specifications for the APFP impose in particular that the proposed strategy is based on a balance of committed actions and measures (public awareness, flood forecasts, crisis preparation, integration of flood prevention factors in territorial planning, reduction in the level of vulnerability of existing property and activities, works to avert rapid landslides, works for the creation, enhancement and heightening of dikes). It also imposes the use of a cost-to-benefit analysis or a multi-criteria analysis for the costliest hydraulic protection works.

On average, 38% of the cost of an APFP can be financed through the Barnier Fund. Access to this financing is however subject to the existence of a prescribed NDPP within the territory covered by the APFP. Payment of the Barnier Fund's share of financing for the hydraulic protection works conducted in the framework of the APFP is subject to compliance by the mayors of their obligations to provide prevention information (creation of MIDMRs) and the implementation of the Municipal Contingency Plans (MCPs). Since 2011, the Barnier Fund1 has provided 760 million euros towards the development of APFPs.

Source : French Ministry for an Ecological and Solidary Transition – Report on APFP-RSP certification (French only) – Flood Commission Meeting of February 8, 2018.

La politique de prévention des risques naturels actuelle est le fruit d’une diversification progressive des réponses apportées aux sinistres que la France a connus au cours des décennies passées : protection des territoires contre les aléas, intégration du risque dans l’aménagement et l’urbanisme, prévision des aléas, préparation à la crise, sensibilisation du public, réduction de la vulnérabilité des biens et des activités, renforcement des normes constructives. Les dispositifs publics de prévention, parfois liés les uns aux autres, sont portés à des échelles et par des acteurs d’une grande diversité. Ils s’articulent ainsi au sein d’une architecture complexe qui manque parfois de lisibilité tant en termes d’opérationnalité que d’efficacité. Les développements de cette section ont pour but d’apporter des éléments d’éclairage sur la nature, le degré de mise en œuvre et l’efficacité de quelques dispositifs publics, parmi les plus emblématiques...

2 février 1995Créé par la loi du 2 février 1995, en réponse à des évènements d’inondation dramatiques ayant montré les graves écueils d’un urbanisme non contrôlé dans les zones les plus à risque, le PPR prend la relève des Plan d’exposition aux risques (PER) dont la mise en œuvre a rencontré de multiples obstacles.

190 M€La réalisation des PPR a mobilisé 190 millions d'euros du Fonds Barnier depuis 1997.

100% financéFinancée à 100% par le Fonds Barnier, l’élaboration d’un PPR entraine une obligation pour les maires des communes couvertes par ce dispositif de réaliser un Plan Communal de Sauvegarde (PCS) et un Document d’information communal sur les risques majeurs (DICRIM).

11 888En 2017, 11 888 communes sont couvertes par un PPR ou un dispositif assimilé (PSS, PER, R111.3).

La loi du 13 juillet 1982 a créé conjointement un mécanisme d’indemnisation assorti de franchises obligatoires et un dispositif de prévention (Plans d’Exposition aux Risques, aujourd’hui devenus Plans de Prévention des Risques). Ces liens entre indemnisation et prévention ont été renforcés par un mécanisme de modulation des franchises dans les communes non dotées de PPR afin d’encourager leur mise en place.

Depuis le 1er janvier 2001, dans les communes dépourvues de Plan de Prévention des Risques (approuvé ou prescrit depuis moins de 4 ans), les franchises peuvent être modulées (sauf pour les contrats automobiles) au-delà de deux arrêtés de reconnaissance portant sur le même type de péril au cours des 5 dernières années, selon le nombre de reconnaissances inquée(1 à 2, 3, 4, 5 et plus):

Nombre de reconnaissances Tous périls

1 à 2

3

4

5 et +

Total

Franchise simple

2582

Franchise doublée

182

Franchise triplée

59

Franchise quadruplée

35
2858

Franchise simple

2968

Franchise doublée

476

Franchise triplée

178

Franchise quadruplée

61
3683

Franchise simple

1874

Franchise doublée

131

Franchise triplée

46

Franchise quadruplée

19
2070

Franchise simple

6857

Franchise doublée

126

Franchise triplée

34

Franchise quadruplée

7
7024

Franchise simple

494

Franchise doublée

21

Franchise triplée

8

Franchise quadruplée

3
526

Franchise simple

2549

Franchise doublée

393

Franchise triplée

78

Franchise quadruplée

8
3028

Franchise simple

1387

Franchise doublée

46

Franchise triplée

34

Franchise quadruplée

23
1490

Franchise simple

1461

Franchise doublée

52

Franchise triplée

24

Franchise quadruplée

18
1555

Franchise simple

2742

Franchise doublée

86

Franchise triplée

12

Franchise quadruplée

3
2843

Franchise simple

7228

Franchise doublée

132

Franchise triplée

18

Franchise quadruplée

2
7380

Franchise simple

4490

Franchise doublée

39

Franchise triplée

13

Franchise quadruplée

7
4549

Franchise simple

3026

Franchise doublée

290

Franchise triplée

62

Franchise quadruplée

16
3394

Franchise simple

1424

Franchise doublée

56

Franchise triplée

20

Franchise quadruplée

3
1503

Franchise simple

1941

Franchise doublée

29

Franchise triplée

4

Franchise quadruplée

0
1974

Franchise simple

2677

Franchise doublée

73

Franchise triplée

22

Franchise quadruplée

5
2777

Franchise simple

1105

Franchise doublée

56

Franchise triplée

12

Franchise quadruplée

5
1178

Franchise simple

3895

Franchise doublée

71

Franchise triplée

9

Franchise quadruplée

6
3981

Franchise simple

384

Franchise doublée

6

Franchise triplée

0

Franchise quadruplée

0
390

Franchise simple

49084

Franchise doublée

2265

Franchise triplée

633

Franchise quadruplée

221
52203

Nombre de reconnaissances inondations tous types

1 à 2

3

4

5 et +

Total

Franchise simple

2402

Franchise doublée

151

Franchise triplée

39

Franchise quadruplée

17
2609

Franchise simple

2688

Franchise doublée

435

Franchise triplée

165

Franchise quadruplée

53
3341

Franchise simple

1220

Franchise doublée

66

Franchise triplée

23

Franchise quadruplée

8
1317

Franchise simple

2365

Franchise doublée

85

Franchise triplée

19

Franchise quadruplée

5
2474

Franchise simple

356

Franchise doublée

12

Franchise triplée

1

Franchise quadruplée

2
371

Franchise simple

846

Franchise doublée

37

Franchise triplée

15

Franchise quadruplée

2
900

Franchise simple

1132

Franchise doublée

14

Franchise triplée

0

Franchise quadruplée

1
1147

Franchise simple

1202

Franchise doublée

17

Franchise triplée

1

Franchise quadruplée

0
1220

Franchise simple

2548

Franchise doublée

76

Franchise triplée

11

Franchise quadruplée

1
2636

Franchise simple

6633

Franchise doublée

82

Franchise triplée

7

Franchise quadruplée

1
6723

Franchise simple

3019

Franchise doublée

25

Franchise triplée

11

Franchise quadruplée

7
3062

Franchise simple

980

Franchise doublée

53

Franchise triplée

16

Franchise quadruplée

9
1058

Franchise simple

757

Franchise doublée

19

Franchise triplée

9

Franchise quadruplée

1
786

Franchise simple

1702

Franchise doublée

24

Franchise triplée

2

Franchise quadruplée

0
1728

Franchise simple

2458

Franchise doublée

68

Franchise triplée

21

Franchise quadruplée

2
2549

Franchise simple

802

Franchise doublée

45

Franchise triplée

11

Franchise quadruplée

4
862

Franchise simple

2940

Franchise doublée

51

Franchise triplée

8

Franchise quadruplée

6
3005

Franchise simple

356

Franchise doublée

6

Franchise triplée

0

Franchise quadruplée

0
362

Franchise simple

34406

Franchise doublée

1266

Franchise triplée

359

Franchise quadruplée

119
36150

Pour les inondations (incluant les remontées de nappe et la submersion marine), la franchise n’a été modulée que dans 5% des reconnaissances (1 744 modulations sur 36 150 reconnaissances).

Nombre de reconnaissances sécheresse

1 à 2

3

4

5 et +

Total

Franchise simple

41

Franchise doublée

14

Franchise triplée

10

Franchise quadruplée

4
69

Franchise simple

6

Franchise doublée

7

Franchise triplée

1

Franchise quadruplée

0
14

Franchise simple

571

Franchise doublée

63

Franchise triplée

23

Franchise quadruplée

9
666

Franchise simple

4383

Franchise doublée

39

Franchise triplée

14

Franchise quadruplée

2
4438

Franchise simple

84

Franchise doublée

9

Franchise triplée

7

Franchise quadruplée

1
101

Franchise simple

1680

Franchise doublée

354

Franchise triplée

62

Franchise quadruplée

6
2102

Franchise simple

238

Franchise doublée

32

Franchise triplée

34

Franchise quadruplée

22
326

Franchise simple

187

Franchise doublée

35

Franchise triplée

23

Franchise quadruplée

18
263

Franchise simple

120

Franchise doublée

10

Franchise triplée

1

Franchise quadruplée

2
133

Franchise simple

545

Franchise doublée

49

Franchise triplée

11

Franchise quadruplée

1
606

Franchise simple

87

Franchise doublée

14

Franchise triplée

2

Franchise quadruplée

0
103

Franchise simple

2012

Franchise doublée

235

Franchise triplée

46

Franchise quadruplée

7
2300

Franchise simple

603

Franchise doublée

36

Franchise triplée

10

Franchise quadruplée

2
651

Franchise simple

22

Franchise doublée

1

Franchise triplée

0

Franchise quadruplée

0
23

Franchise simple

43

Franchise doublée

1

Franchise triplée

0

Franchise quadruplée

0
44

Franchise simple

197

Franchise doublée

8

Franchise triplée

1

Franchise quadruplée

0
206

Franchise simple

866

Franchise doublée

19

Franchise triplée

1

Franchise quadruplée

0
886

Franchise simple

11685

Franchise doublée

926

Franchise triplée

246

Franchise quadruplée

74
12931

Dans le cas de la sécheresse, la franchise a été modulée dans 10% des cas (1 246 modulations sur 12 931 reconnaissances).


Plan Communal de Sauvegarde (PCS)

Le Plan Communal de Sauvegarde est un dispositif de préparation à la crise ayant pour vocation de préserver la population des effets d’un évènement potentiellement dangereux. Rendu obligatoire par la loi de modernisation de la sécurité civile du 13 août 2004, dans les communes dotées d’un PPR approuvé et ce dans un délai de deux ans après approbation, le PCS se présente sous la forme d’un document planifiant à l’échelle communale, les mesures de sauvegarde de la population en cas de crise de sécurité civile (mesures d’alerte, d’évacuation préventive, d’hébergement temporaire, de soutien à la population, consignes de sécurité…). La loi impose également que le PCS intègre l’ensemble des documents de compétence communale contribuant à l'information préventive et donc notamment le Document d’information communal sur les risques majeurs (DICRIM). La raison en est simple, les mesures de sauvegarde déployées par le maire en anticipation à la crise ont d’autant plus d’efficacité si la population est correctement informée. L’élaboration du PCS n’est pas finançable par le Fonds Barnier. Sa mise en place constitue toutefois pour la collectivité territoriale désireuse de concevoir et mettre en œuvre un programme d’action de prévention des inondations (PAPI), une condition nécessaire à l’obtention du solde du financement par le Fonds Barnier, des opérations de travaux hydrauliques contenues dans le PAPI.

Document d’information communal sur les risques majeurs (DICRIM)

Le DICRIM est l’un des dispositifs communaux de sensibilisation des populations aux risques. Il se présente le plus souvent sous la forme d’une plaquette rassemblant sous un format pédagogique des informations relatives aux risques auxquels la commune est exposée (historique des évènements, cartographie des aléas), les modalités de diffusion des alertes en cas d’évènement, les mesures de sauvegarde prises par la mairie en cas d’évènement, les bons comportements à adopter. La création d’un DICRIM et sa mise à disposition en mairie est une obligation du maire dès lors que la commune est couverte par un PPR. Il fait partie intégrante du PCS. Le DICRIM est finançable par le Fonds Barnier à hauteur de 100%. A l’instar du PCS, sa mise en place est une condition nécessaire à l’obtention du solde de financement du Fonds Barnier pour les opérations de travaux hydrauliques contenues dans les PAPI.

Programme d’Actions de Prévention des Inondations (PAPI)

Le PAPI est un dispositif de nature très différente de celle du PPR, du PCS ou du DICRIM. Comme son nom l’indique, un PAPI ne traite que de la problématique d’inondation, prise toutefois dans une acception large (débordements de cours d’eau, remontées de nappes, ruissellements pluviaux exceptionnels, submersions marines).

Son périmètre s’appuie sur un territoire de taille variable mais très souvent supérieur à plusieurs dizaines de communes et, en règle générale, en cohérence avec l’aléa qu’il traite (bassin versant, cellule hydro sédimentaire). Le PAPI est un programme d’actions c’est-à-dire un assemblage de plusieurs dispositifs dont la mise en œuvre est pensée de manière intégrée et articulée à l’échelle d’un territoire donné. En ce sens, un PAPI peut « contenir » la révision de PPR, la réalisation de DICRIM, la mise en œuvre de PCS, ainsi qu’un grand éventail d’autres actions de prévention. Portés par des collectivités territoriales de divers types, les PAPI ont vocation à apporter une réponse globale à la problématique du risque d'inondation. Initié en 2003 sous la forme d’un appel à projet ponctuel, le dispositif a connu un véritable succès (plus d’une centaine de projets déposés en France à ce jour couvrant 40% de la population exposée aux débordements de cours d’eau et 60 % de la population exposée aux submersions marines).

L’originalité de ce dispositif tient notamment au processus de sélection auquel il est soumis pour l’accession à des subventions du Fonds Barnier. Ce dernier repose lui-même sur un cahier des charges qui a profondément évolué au cours des quinze dernières années avec un niveau d’exigence croissant. Le cahier des charges des PAPI impose notamment que la stratégie d’action mise en œuvre repose sur un équilibre des actions et dispositifs engagés (sensibilisation du public, prévision des inondations, préparation à la crise, intégration de l’inondation dans l’aménagement du territoire, réduction de la vulnérabilité des biens et activités existants, travaux de ralentissement des écoulements, travaux de création, confortement ou rehausse de digues). Il impose également le recours aux analyses coûts/bénéfices ou analyses multicritères pour les travaux de protection hydrauliques les plus coûteux.

Les PAPI sont financés en moyenne à hauteur de 38% par le Fonds Barnier. L’ouverture de ce financement est toutefois conditionnée à l’existence de PPRI prescrits sur le territoire du PAPI. Le versement du solde du financement du Fonds Barnier concernant les mesures de protection hydrauliques du PAPI est conditionné au respect, par les maires, de leurs obligations d’information préventive (dont la réalisation des DICRIM) et de réalisation des plans communaux de sauvegarde (PCS). Depuis 2011, les PAPI ont mobilisé 760 millions d’euros du Fonds Barnier1

Source : MTES – Bilan des labellisations PAPI-PSR – CMI du 8 février 2018.